About McCain and Obama: Election 2008, Recap

 

I have been reading some of my old posts. History has shown me to be wrong about John McCain. Sadly, I vastly overestimated him both as a candidate and as a conservative.

It turns out that I was optimistic about John McCain. And I was wrong on many fronts about him, but not about his running mate. The upside, it inspired some good writing (if I do say so myself).

I was also wrong on Barack Obama. Again, I was optimistic: I knew he was going to be bad, but, honestly, I had no idea how bad his bad could be. Optimistic. I thought he would at least follow the law. Optimistic. I thought he would at the very least respect the traditions and dignity of the White House. Optimistic. I thought he … it just goes on and on. Sadly, I was wrong about him.

I knew he’d be bad, but I didn’t think he’d be deliberately destructive. I misread his heart: he is on a rampage corrupting and undermining everything he touches by manipulating all the means available to the most powerful man in the free world (a free world considerably less free than it was before Obama). I mean, really, who could have foreseen his DOJ’s hiring–as CAREER hires, ie: ensconced bureaucrats, positioned to undermine ANY restructuring by future Republican administration–an entirely radically left group of activists. Over 100. (Document in detail by J. Christian Adams at PJMedia.com.) I did not even consider it a possibility, especially given Democrats proclivity to cry foul at the slightest hint of such behaviour.

Again, I clearly underestimated the utter lack of shame the left has, how blatant the grab for power is and how hard their propaganda arm at once both works to hide the truth through obsfucation and distraction while, for all intents and purposes, declares fealty to the lords of leftism. I am speaking, of course, of the outright hypocrisy demonstrated routinely and how no one on the left ever gets called on it. I find this to be very discouraging.

On the brighter side, though, I was correct in the awakening of everyone’s personal John Galt.

More later, for now I must continue categorizing.

Leave a Reply

